Partner Logistics Cuts Carbon Emissions at Bergen Op Zoom

In line with the 1990 Kyoto Treaty framework, integrated logistics service provider Partner Logistics has reduced the amount of CO2 produced by the collection and processing of waste at its Bergen op Zoom cold store by 65%.

Equivalent to 162 tonnes per year, the savings are as a result of Partner Logistics’ partnership with sustainable waste management specialists SITA, who use techniques for the separation, collection and processing of waste which significantly reduces carbon emissions.

The Bergen op Zoom warehouse, which operates at temperatures as low as -27 degrees and has a 157,500 pallet capacity, also recycled 100% of its waste in 2014, preventing any waste being sent to landfill.

Simon Verburg, Manager Operations for the Netherlands and Belgium, said: “We’re delighted with our significant improvement to carbon efficiency at the site. Partner Logistics strives to be a sustainable logistics provider and projects like this mean that we can help our customers to meet their carbon reduction targets.”

Partner Logistics has also implemented a number of other energy-saving projects. These include a facility enabling refrigerated trailers to use sustainable electricity plug-in points instead of being powered by the truck’s engine and adapting their loading bays for double-stack pallet shipments to significantly reduce food miles. Following a successful trial, the company also plans to replace existing lighting with the latest energy-saving LED technology across its six sites in the Netherlands, Belgium and UK. 

Privacy Preference Center

Strictly Necessary

These cookies are essential for websites built on Wordpress to perform their basic functions. These include those required to allow registered users to authenticate and perform account related functions.

wordpress_test_cookie, wordpress_{hash}, wordpress_logged_in_{hash}, wp-settings-{user_id}, wp_sharing_{id},gdpr[allowed_cookies],gdpr[consent_types]
_unam, _ga, _gid
OAID

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?